Member Login

Alto Lakes Scholarship Fund Party 2021

Tropical vibes greeted Alto Lakes Golf and Country Club (ALGCC) members and guests at the Alto Lakes Scholarship Appreciation Event held on Saturday, July 24, 2021. This annual affair recognizes and showcases the achievements of the scholarship applicants employed by ALGCC. It also provides an opportunity for the scholarship applicants to mix and mingle with donors in a fun-filled setting. 

Attendees were welcomed Island style, with a delicious selection of luau-inspired hors d’oeuvres, and dancing to the sounds of DJ Pete. After skipping a celebration last year due to COVID restrictions, this year’s party stepped up the fun with a very successful Wine Pull and Silent Auction in addition to the yearly raffle!

It was announced that $40,750 in educational assistance will be awarded to 12 employees, once all requirements are met. More than $863,000 has been distributed since the program’s inception for tuition, books, room and board and other college fees. The Alto Lakes Scholarship Fund began in 2001 with the dual purpose of providing financial assistance to post-secondary students who wish to continue their education and to provide recruitment and retention incentives for ALGCC summer employees.

To be eligible for the scholarship, recipients must be employed at ALGCC and have worked a minimum of 300 hours from Memorial Day to Labor Day, and carry at least of 12 units each semester, while maintaining a 2.5 or better GPA. The Scholarship Interview Committee consisting of Jill Duncan, Tana Lucy, Leslie Wall and JaLynn West interviewed each of the candidates to determine qualification in the program.  

Congratulations to our 2021 Alto Lakes Scholarship applicants who work at both our Alto and Outlaw golf courses in the Food & Beverage departments, Administration Office, Grounds, Pool, and Pro Shop/Cart Barns: Erika Rodriguez, Gabriela Diaz, McKenzie Nunez, Caleb Hightower, Alexandra Michelena, Rosa Magana, Marcus Rodriguez, John Rogers Jr., Patrick Espalin, Abby Nevarez, Ashlin Sartin, and Katrina Franzoy. Half of these students will be attending NMSU Las Cruces, with the remainder spread among Texas Tech; University of Texas, Permian Basin; University of North Texas, Denton; Grand Canyon University; Capella University and ENMU-Roswell.

ALGCC wishes all scholarship recipients success in their scholastic endeavors and looks forward to their return next summer.

This year’s Alto Lakes Scholarship Commission consists of Jim Solomon, Chairman; Tana Lucy, Secretary; Jill Duncan, Treasurer/Finance; Leslie Wall, Director; JaLynn West, Director; Tom Bloemendaal, President; Bud Vuicich, Board Liaison and Paula Watrous, Employee Liaison.

We would like to thank the following members and local businesses for their Silent Auction and In-Kind Donations: D.J Pete (discounted rate for his services) JaLynn West, Denise & Henry Bowers, Kai Brown, Bob & Theresa Brownd, Ron & Jill Duncan, Gari Fails and Mike Walker, Kay Fuhrman, Darrell & Judy Gasaway, Terry Geer & Norma Bennett, Sisters’ Kollectibles, Joyce Hansen, George & Susan Holmes, Don & Mary King, Floy Ana Lane, Gloria Powers, Dedra Mergele, Sarah & Bill Ott, Jan Rogers, Juanita Rogers & Linda Roberts-Hemberger, Carla Spaniel and Jane Strickland.

Local Businesses who contributed include: Albertson’s Market, Kevin; Sheila Martin of Final Touch Salon; Kokopelli Club, Kirk Taylor; Leathers with Style, Robyn Tombs; Mitchell’s, Nancy Millar, The Perfect Gift with Algodones Distillery; Pavelka’s Sleep and Comfort & Truman’s Furniture; Ruidoso Natural Remedies, Kalynn Wickware; Sabor, Elda Mendoza Herrera and M. Jett of gypsie soule.

Special Thanks to our Raffle Donors: ALGCC Food & Beverage, Frank Maldonaldo; Joyce Hansen; Pat & Paul Martin of Lincoln County Grill; ALGCC Pro Shops, John Rogers; and Pam & Ralph Rush, St. Bernard Ski & Snowboard.

Our thanks to our Wine Pull Member Donors: Denise & Henry Bowers, Terry & Trisha Stahl, Steve & Diane Beloat, Patty & Drew Bodin, Karen Dickerson, Ron & Jill Duncan, Tom & Amy Fox, Dale & Dianna Gibson, Jeff & Donna Hastey, George & Susan Holmes, JR & Jane Kahn, Kim & Kyle Lagasse, Bill & Tana Lucy, Stan & Suzanne Mathis, Darla Place, Robert Rogers, Bill Steinmann, Cindy Stowe, Bud Vuicich, Leslie & Ken Wall and JaLynn & Lance West.

We could not do this without our Decorating, Silent Auction and Party Volunteers: Ron Duncan, Judy & Darrell Gasaway, Terry Geer, Julie Gibbons, Joyce Hansen, George & Susan Holmes, Karen Johns, Lonie Kewley, Sue Macfarlane, Cathy & Gary Mackay, Dedra Mergele, Vicki & Bruce Ripko, Jan Rogers, Molly Rogers and Nancy Tarwater,

And to all the members who donated to the scholarship fund this year, we thank you!

It certainly takes a village to have a successful program and event. Please join us for next year’s celebration, Havana Nights!

With Appreciation,
Jill Duncan, Tana Lucy, Leslie Wall, JaLynn West and Jim Solomon.

(photos to follow: Scholarship Applicants, ALSF Commission, Party photos)